Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Our staff are currently offline, but you can use the community 24/7
Remember to accept a reply to your question as the answer!
Accepted Solution

SIM Deactivated

Scout

I've been travelling Australia for 9 months and haven't made calls or sent texts in that time, but have received them. I topped up one month ago by €20 to avoid my sim being deactivated, but never sent a text or made a call. My SIM card no longer receives a carrier, and as such I have no signal.

3 Suppport have told me twice in the past few days that my SIM is still active, and I can still log on to my3. I am afraid of losing my number, or that I already have. How do I reactivate my SIM since it has apparently been deactivated? If I can still log on to my3, and topped up one month ago, how long until my SIM is recycled?

Thanks in advance,

Oisín.

Chosen Solution

Re: SIM Deactivated

3 Community Manager

@oisin1 Hi there, thanks for your PM and going through those steps. Because your phone is showing "no service" and we can't eliminate a fault with the SIM by trying it in another phone, it could point towards a faulty phone. Your number is active, I assure you of that. Do you know anyone with an unlocked phone? You mentioned that you're coming back to Ireland in the near future and since you topped up last month, you have 6 months before the number is looked at for deactivation. It's preferred to make a call/text too but not necessary 👍 Just say, you number becomes inactive, it stays with us for a further 6 months ( at least) before it's recycled. 

View solution in original post

All Replies To This Topic

Legend
To keep a sim active you need to topup and send a text or call every 6 months.
Restart your phone with the sim and see can you send a text to someone

3 Community Manager