Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Our staff are currently offline, but you can use the community 24/7
Remember to accept a reply to your question as the answer!
Accepted Solution

Huawei B525 WiFi so slow, not what i was expecting at all

[ Edited ]
Scout

Hi,

I'm living in Dublin 1, Just got the Three Broadband package two days ago, set it up, only 1 or 2 bars coming up on the router, did a speed test, got about 1mb download and 2mb upload, I'm not a newbie to tech,

so as i use Eir for my smart phone, i created a hot spot for my laptop via the phone (eir) and i was getting faster speeds than i was on three, this is not on, i have also checked this using a 2 tablets and various smart phones, It's still the same, i shouldn't be getting such slow speeds, is there a problem in the area, as i'm thinking of bringing the router back and cancelling my contract.  not very happy.

Chosen Solution

Re: Huawei B525 WiFi so slow, not what i was expecting at al

[ Edited ]
3 Moderator

Hi @Grego, if you follow the below steps, you'll be able to change this setting. 

1. Open a browser ( chrome ) and in the URL address box type in - 192.168.8.1

2. Log-in details are - Username: admin and the same for the password ( unless you ever changed them in the past )

3. When you're logged in click settings on the top of the screen

4. Go to 'WLAN Basic settings' and you'll find the 2.4ghz and 5ghz options in here

5. If you're connected to 5 ghz can you choose 2.4 or if connected to 2.4 choose 5. When you've this selected can you see if you notice an improvement?

50mbps is a very good speed to be getting on the router 😊 Mobile data speeds and wifi speeds can differ. For example, your router speed can be affected by external factors (walls/distance from the router etc) whereas this won't affect mobile data as much as its only the one device you're using. Hope this helps! 

View solution in original post

All Replies To This Topic

Leader

Hi @Brian69